Social Navigation

Corey Seager is Unanimous NL Rookie of the Year, No Votes for Willson Contreras

Chicago Cubs News, MLB News and Rumors

In a surprise to no one – so unsurprising that I’m confidently writing this before the voting is even announced – Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager won the BBWAA voting for National League Rookie of the Year.

Seager, 22, was among the best few players in all of baseball this year, despite his youth. He hit .308/.365/.512 with solid peripherals, and played excellent defense at shortstop. His 7.5 WAR was fifth most in baseball, and second in the NL behind only last year’s Rookie of the Year (and this year’s presumptive MVP), Kris Bryant.


Down the ballot in the voting, you won’t find the young man we talked up this morning, Willson Contreras. The Cubs’ catcher certainly deserved some consideration, but the tough thing is, to get votes, he had to finish in at least some voters’ top three – a tall task when Seager and Trea Turner should be mortal locks for two of the three spots.

Kenta Maeda finished third in the voting, followed by Trevor Story, Aledmys Diaz, Jon Gray, Steven Matz, and Seung Hwan Oh. Dang that was a loaded class.


Congrats to Seager. Great years are ahead for Contreras. All is well.


Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation.