Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs: Bryant Returns, Rizzo Leads Off, Happ in Center Field

Cubs Lineups

The Chicago Cubs won Game 1 last night against the Pittsburgh Pirates and have a shot at taking the three-game set tonight.


Here’s the group that’ll try:

  1. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  2. Ian Happ, CF
  3. Kris Bryant, 3B
  4. Miguel Montero, C
  5. Addison Russell, SS
  6. Jason Heyward, RF
  7. Javy Baez, 2B
  8. Kyle Schwarber, LF
  9. Jake Arrieta, P

Anthony Rizzo leads off again, but unfortunately – after that ridiculous first inning – he won’t have a shot at extending his lead off homer streak … wait a second!

Because a walk doesn’t count as an at-bat, Rizzo can technically keep that streak alive! Do I expect it? Nah, but hey, let’s have some fun.

There are not many surprises in the lineup today, as Ian Happ takes center field and Miguel Montero catches Jake Arrieta. Kyle Schwarber does slide back down to the back end of the order and the pitcher is batting ninth, but, yeah, not much out of the ordinary. So, you know, go get em, Cubs.


As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (7:15 CT).


Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @Michael_Cerami.