Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Alex Avila Starts Behind the Plate and Bats Sixth

Cubs Lineups

The Chicago Cubs kick off a tough road set against the Diamondbacks today, but if they can get a series win in Arizona, things would look really great for the rest of the year (remember the schedule lightens way up after Sunday).


Here’s the lineup for tonight’s Game one:

  1. Jon Jay, CF
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  4. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  5. Kyle Schwarber, LF
  6. Alex Avila, C
  7. Jason Heyward, RF
  8. Javy Baez, SS
  9. John Lackey, P

The Cubs are more left-handed now than ever, with Alex Avila taking over the starting catcher duties, as we await the final word on Willson Contreras. The opposing starter, Taijuan Walker, has been split neutral this season, and doesn’t even have very ridiculous splits for his career, so it doesn’t matter much either way (at least for tonight). In any case, Avila bats sixth, behind Kyle Schwarber, Ben Zobrist, Bryzzo, and leadoff man Jon Jay.

With Addison Russell still out, Javy Baez is still your starting shortstop, and Jason Heyward mans his usual post in right field.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (8:40 CT).


Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @Michael_Cerami.