Social Navigation

MLB Award Finalists Announced: No Cubs, But That’s Not Necessarily a Surprise

MLB News and Rumors

Major League Baseball and the BBWAA tonight announced the three finalists for their marquee awards, MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, and Manager of the Year. The winners will be unveiled from Nov. 13-16 on MLB Network at 5 pm CT each night.


It should not surprise you that there are no Cubs finalists this year, given the way the season shook out. You could certainly have made an argument for Kris Bryant on the MVP list and Joe Maddon on the MOY list, but when you look at and consider the finalists, their exclusion is not really a slight.

The finalists are …


Most Valuable Player

1B Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
OF Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins
1B Joey Votto, Reds

Cy Young

LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
RHP Max Scherzer, Nationals
RHP Stephen Strasburg, Nationals

Rookie of the Year

1B Josh Bell, Pirates
1B Cody Bellinger, Dodgers
SS Paul DeJong, Cardinals

Manager of the Year

Bud Black, Rockies
Torey Lovullo, D-backs
Dave Roberts, Dodgers


Most Valuable Player

2B Jose Altuve, Astros
OF Aaron Judge, Yankees
2B Jose Ramirez, Indians

Cy Young

RHP Corey Kluber, Indians
LHP Chris Sale, Red Sox
RHP Luis Severino, Yankees

Rookie of the Year

OF Trey Mancini, Orioles
OF Andrew Benintendi, Red Sox
OF Aaron Judge, Yankees

Manager of the Year

Terry Francona, Indians
A.J. Hinch, Astros
Paul Molitor, Twins


Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation.