Jump to content





Bleacher Nation is on Facebook, and you should totally "Like" us:
 


Bleacher Nation is also on Twitter, and you should totally follow us:




Upcoming Calendar Events

There are no forthcoming calendar events

Today's birthdays


Photo

Baseball Rules Quiz


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 Luke

Luke

    Bleacher Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,083 posts
  • Twitter:@ltblaize
  • LocationMaryland

Posted 22 June 2013 - 03:49 PM

I only got three right.  I'm just going to assume that everyone that did better than me was already aware that you could carry your teammate around the basepath if necessary. 

 

That's one I can't believe I missed.

 

I remember a college softball game where that happened.  Some of the articles after the game indicated that the same rule applied in baseball.



#17 wvcubsfan

wvcubsfan

    Bleacher Bum

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 397 posts
  • LocationLittle Rock, AR

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:13 PM

6/10

 

and no I didn't get the assist a base runner correct, but anytime Swisher gets called out for something is good with me.



#18 fromthemitten

fromthemitten

    sleeps in too late to answer the calendar trivia

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,472 posts
  • Twitter:fromthemitten
  • Locationin a van down by the river

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:07 PM

 

I only got three right.  I'm just going to assume that everyone that did better than me was already aware that you could carry your teammate around the basepath if necessary. 

 

That's one I can't believe I missed.

 

I remember a college softball game where that happened.  Some of the articles after the game indicated that the same rule applied in baseball.

 

 

If it was the one I'm thinking about, it was actually her opponents who carried her!  The umpire wouldn't let her own teammates assist her or allow a pinch runner (they would have to be on first since that's as far as the player got after blowing out her knee) so the other team picked her up and carried her



#19 Spencer

Spencer

    Bleacher Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,560 posts
  • LocationValparaiso, IN

Posted 24 June 2013 - 11:45 PM

 

 

I only got three right.  I'm just going to assume that everyone that did better than me was already aware that you could carry your teammate around the basepath if necessary. 

 

That's one I can't believe I missed.

 

I remember a college softball game where that happened.  Some of the articles after the game indicated that the same rule applied in baseball.

 

 

If it was the one I'm thinking about, it was actually her opponents who carried her!  The umpire wouldn't let her own teammates assist her or allow a pinch runner (they would have to be on first since that's as far as the player got after blowing out her knee) so the other team picked her up and carried her

 

 

Here's the story: http://sports.espn.g...aham&id=3372631

 

And video: 

 

 

Pretty cool.



#20 TWC

TWC

    Hippie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,055 posts
  • Twitter:@thomaswconroy
  • LocationHMB, CA

Posted 25 June 2013 - 10:47 AM

Yeah, that was a totally awesome story.  Always nice to have a reminder that there tons of really good people in the world.



#21 udbrky

udbrky

    Bleacher Bum

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Twitter:udbrky

Posted 18 August 2013 - 11:12 AM

6/10. I missed that the Barney play was a bunt.

 

I didn't know about the player falling into the stands - I thought as long as he controlled the ball, it wasn't the same as knocking the ball.

 

I was disappointed, but I haven't read the MLB rule book since I quit umpiring 11 years ago.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Bleacher Nation is not affiliated in any way with Major League Baseball or the Chicago National League Ballclub (that's the Cubs).