Oswego Chris

Bleacher Hero

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Twitter:oswegochris23
  • LocationOswego, Illinois

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:14 PM

I am sure most of you out there play fantasy baseball. My chums and I have been playing since 1989...yes, I know before some of you were born. Invariably, we have always had to tinker with the league's rules because loopholes are found or competitive disadvantages pop up.

It really is no different in the modern MLB...successful teams find the competitive advantage...and exploit it...until the rule is changed.

Examples... drafting players late and overslotting them...or trading for a pending free-agent, renting him, then gaining the compensatory draft pick. Theo Epstein used these methods quite well with the Sawx...as many other successful GMs did.

Well those options are now gone...and I think we are seeing the new method...trading players for international spending money...and then spending that money to stash away very young talent.

Use it while you can, because I guarantee it will eventually be changed...and the smart guys will have to adapt again.

#2 Timothy Scarbrough

Timothy Scarbrough

Bleacher Bum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 48 posts
  • LocationFayetteville, AR

Posted 03 July 2013 - 08:02 AM

Assuming Bryant and Jimenez both sign, I really like what the FO did in the draft and IFA.

#3 FFP

FFP

Bleacher Bum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 406 posts
  • LocationWorcester County, Massachusetts

Posted 03 July 2013 - 06:01 PM

No question, Coach. The Theory is not "moneyball;" it is 'where-is-the-new-seam?' --and finding it before the next team sees the competitive advantage there.