TWC

Hippie

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,054 posts
  • Twitter:@thomaswconroy
  • LocationHMB, CA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 04:36 PM

Just curious if any of y'all play any music. I've been playing mandolin for several years now, and have recently been teaching myself piano/melodica, guitar, and harmonica (my goal is to be just barely competent on a multitude of instruments, rather than moderately competent on just one). I always like to hear of more people jamming. Anyone?

#2 T C

T C

Bleacher Bum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Twitter:@tommyecook
  • LocationThe University of Illinois

Posted 06 April 2012 - 04:54 PM

Just curious if any of y'all play any music. I've been playing mandolin for several years now, and have recently been teaching myself piano/melodica, guitar, and harmonica (my goal is to be just barely competent on a multitude of instruments, rather than moderately competent on just one). I always like to hear of more people jamming. Anyone?

I've played the guitar for 7 years now, and I absolutely love it. I was pretty solid by the start of my freshman year in college, but school work and a lack of people to play with has simply killed a lot of my ability. Im not terrible by any means, but I find myself reaching for things that I can't do anymore, and it sucks.

I mostly played lead stuff when I jammed with my friends in high school, and we usually played bluesy/rock type stuff...I need to find people at school who don't suck, haha

The mandolin is an awesome instrument, TWC, its probably the next instrument I would try to learn if I ever get the chance. How often do you get to jam with others? What kind of stuff do you play?

#3 Sam

Sam

Bleacher Bum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Twitter:SamVari7
  • Facebook:sam.varipapa
  • LocationBaltimore MD & Huntington WV

Posted 06 April 2012 - 05:11 PM

I've always wanted to learn to play the mandolin. But yes, I do jam lol. I actually used to play bass in a jam band.