#1 sven-erik312

sven-erik312

Bleacher Bum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 07 April 2012 - 02:37 AM

Pressure. There has been a lot of talk in the run up to this season that the Cubs face low expectations this year after so many years of disappointment from what seemed to be a promising season in 2008, 2009 2010 and even 2011 when we knew the team had no chance.

Really now, no expectations? I submit to you that opening day 2012, the Cubs team faced as much pressure as they would in a playoff game. One needs only to read the reactions after Thursday’s loss to understand that. All the bywords such as “new culture”, “the Cubs Way”, “a new era” and all the rest of what has been heard created enormous pressure on the team to win the first game of the new season. I believe that even the players put extra pressure on themselves. Well, they lost, and what do we hear? It’s all over the papers and the Internet: “Same old Cubs”

Now, I am not a professional baseball player. I didn’t get that talent. I have poor eyesight, not very good balance and am pretty clumsy too. What I am is a professional musician. Now, I am the first to admit that I can’t see everything that a serious baseball player sees on the field. In a situation where I may see one or two possibilities, a professional baseball player will see 10 or more and there will certainly be among those possiblities, things I never even thought of.