Luke

Bleacher Hero

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,082 posts
  • Twitter:@ltblaize
  • LocationMaryland

Posted 25 May 2012 - 03:06 PM

Both my wife and I are blessed enough to work* in what I consider to be the best possible industry - the video gaming industry. My last project was Volition's Saints Row: The Third on which I was an Assistant Writer. My wife is a Visual Effects Artists and worked on the G.I Joe game, the newest Front Mission title, and is currently making awesome effects for the Elder Scrolls MMO recently announced and in development by ZeniMax Online Studios.

Recently, as you may have heard, the game development company founded by Curt Schilling essentially died. 38 Studios (in Rhode Island), and its wholly owned sister studio Big Huge Games (in Baltimore) laid off their entire staff yesterday. The staff have not been paid since the end of April, and they lost their benefits packages last night.

http://arstechnica.c...f-entire-staff/

That's nearly 400 people who thought they were securely employed (at least by gaming industry standards) two weeks ago and who are now out of work.

That sucks.

What doesn't suck is the response of the rest of the industry. Within hours the gaming industry globally had taken to Twitter and started broadcasting open jobs in the gaming industry under the hashtag #38jobs. By the close of business on the East Coast, #38jobs was one of the most popular trends nationally.

To get an idea of the scope of this thing, take a look at this document:
https://docs.google....-cUI/edit?pli=1

People (or at least one guy) are still working through the deluge of Twitter, pulling out the jobs mentioned, and compiling them into a document that is onto its fifth page and still growing.