Gold Glove Winners and Various Awards Finalists Announced

Social Navigation

Gold Glove Winners and Various Awards Finalists Announced

MLB News and Rumors

mlb logo featureThis year’s Gold Glove winners were announced this evening, as well as the finalists for the various MLB awards.

Come. Marvel at the lack of any Cubs.

National League Gold Glove

C – Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B – Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers
2B – DJ LeMahieu, Rockies
3B – Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS – Andrelton Simmons, Braves
LF – Christian Yelich, Marlins
CF – Juan Lagares, Mets
RF – Jason Heyward, Braves
P – Zack Greinke, Dodgers

Anthony Rizzo really did have an argument at first base, and he definitely should have been a finalist, but it’s hard to argue with Gonzalez, who was also the Fielding Bible winner at first base for all of MLB.

Jonathan Lucroy probably got jobbed by Molina’s reputation this year. All of the rest look fine to me.

American League Gold Glove

C – Salvador Perez, Royals
1B – Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B – Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
3B – Kyle Seager, Mariners
SS – J.J. Hardy, Orioles
LF – Alex Gordon, Royals
CF – Adam Jones, Orioles
RF – Nick Markakis, Orioles
P – Dallas Keuchel, Astros

Because I tend to focus on the NL, and because I’m intellectually honest, I have no opinion on those choices.

On the awards side, the finalists are as follows (with the winners announced next week):


Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins

Those are the right three to me. Well done, voters.


Michael Brantley, Indians
Victor Martinez, Tigers
Mike Trout, Angels

In his least impressive year, Mike Trout will finally get an MVP award. Not that his year wasn’t still very impressive.

NL Cy Young

Johnny Cueto, Reds
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

Pfft. Jake Arrieta was better than Cueto. Not that it matters, because Kershaaaawwwwwwwww.

AL Cy Young

Felix Hernandez, Mariners
Corey Kluber, Indians
Chris Sale, White Sox

Studs. Kinda think Phil Hughes should have snuck in there somehow, but I’m glad he didn’t. Because then I’d once again be reminded that the Twins stole him for just three years and $24 million last offseason. *kicks dirt*

NL Rookie of the Year

Jacob deGrom, Mets
Billy Hamilton, Reds
Kolten Wong, Cardinals

With a .299 wOBA, more like Kolten Wrong, AMIRITE? What’s that? Hamilton was at .287? Oh. Well, there are other parts to their game … eh, doesn’t matter. It’s deGrom for me.

AL Rookie of the Year

Jose Abreu, White Sox
Dellin Betances, Yankees
Matt Shoemaker, Angels

If Abreu’s a rookie, then he’s the runaway winner.

NL Manager of the Year

Bruce Bochy, Giants
Clint Hurdle, Pirates
Matt Williams, Nationals

One of these things is not like the others.

AL Manager of the Year

Mike Scioscia, Angels
Buck Showalter, Orioles
Ned Yost, Royals

Boom. Yost’d.


Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.