Kris Bryant Nominated for the Hank Aaron Award

Social Navigation

Kris Bryant Nominated for the Hank Aaron Award

Chicago Cubs News

Kris Bryant’s going to need a second mantel.

In between winning just about every award for which he’s ever been eligible and becoming the presumptive 2016 NL MVP, Bryant has been nominated as a finalist for the 2016 Hank Aaron award (for offensive excellence):

In just one plate appearance shy of 700, Kris Bryant slashed .292/.385/.554 with 39 home runs during the 2016 season. Across the National League, he’s fourth in wOBA, fourth in wRC+, third in homers and first in WAR.

According to Mark Newman at, the Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by MLB in more than 25 years. Voting will be held at through Oct. 14, so be sure to pop over and support both Bryant and the Cubs.

The other National League nominees include:

Jake Lamb (Diamondbacks), Freddie Freeman (Braves), Joey Votto (Reds), Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Corey Seager (Dodgers), Christian Yelich (Marlins), Ryan Braun (Brewers), Yoenis Cespedes (Mets), Odubel Herrera (Phillies), Gregory Polanco (Pirates), Stephen Piscotty (Cardinals), Wil Myers (Padres), Brandon Crawford (Giants) and Daniel Murphy (Nationals).

The American League nominees include:

Mark Trumbo (Orioles), David Ortiz (Red Sox), Jose Abreu (White Sox), Jose Ramirez (Indians), Miguel Cabrera (Tigers), Jose Altuve (Astros), Eric Hosmer (Royals), Mike Trout (Angels), Brian Dozier (Twins), Didi Gregorius (Yankees), Khris Davis (Athletics), Nelson Cruz (Mariners) ,Evan Longoria (Rays), Adrian Beltre (Rangers) and Josh Donaldson (Blue Jays).


Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @Michael_Cerami.