Chicago Cubs Announce 2017 Regular Season TV Broadcast Schedule

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Announce 2017 Regular Season TV Broadcast Schedule

Chicago Cubs News

Today, the Chicago Cubs announced the TV broadcast schedule for the upcoming regular season, which will feature up to 81 games on CSN Chicago, 45 games on local Chicago WGN-9, and 25 games on local Chicago ABC-7. Currently, up to nine games are scheduled for national broadcast on ESPN, and five games are scheduled for regional broadcast on FOX.

The CSN games will also for the first time be available via in-market streaming to authenticated subscribers, thanks to a new deal with MLB.

The full schedule:

As in recent years past, the WGN-9 and ABC-7 will be picked up by other local affiliates within the Chicago Cubs’ blackout region (which extends into Iowa, Wisconsin, and Indiana, as well as downstate in Illinois), but those deals will likely not be announced until closer to the season.

For folks outside of the Cubs’ blackout region, you will be able to subscribe to and watch all of the games (except those played against your local team(s), which will be blacked out (unless you subscribe to a cable provider who carries those games)).

The Cubs’ current TV deals run through the 2019 season, and the team is working on a new, long-term television plan that will very likely include their own Regional Sports Network. Unless that comes sooner and in a way that allows the Cubs to move on from their current deals, we’ll all just have to deal with three channel thing for a few more years.


Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.