Anthony Rizzo is the Cubs' Roberto Clemente Award Nominee

Social Navigation

Anthony Rizzo is the Cubs’ Roberto Clemente Award Nominee

Chicago Cubs News

Earlier today, we examined Anthony Rizzo’s chances of winning the 2017 National League MVP award, before ultimately concluding that he’ll probably come up a bit short (to be fair, the NL is absolutely loaded this year).

But that doesn’t mean he’ll finish the season without any personal hardware.

Today, and to the surprise of nobody, Rizzo was named as the Cubs’ nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award for his contributions both on and off the field.

This marks Rizzo’s fifth consecutive year as the Cubs’ representative for the award.

And for good reason. Rizzo has been a model of baseball consistency and excellence throughout his entire Major League career, and, yet, somehow, he’s managed to be even more impressive off the field. He’ll now join 29 other players – one from each team – as the finalists for what MLB Commissioner Rob Manfred has called “baseball’s most prestigious award.”

Here are all of the finalists (AL first, then NL):

  • Chris Davis, Orioles
  • Rick Porcello, Red Sox
  • Jose Abreu, White Sox
  • Carlos Carrasco, Indians
  • Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
  • Jose Altuve, Astros
  • Drew Butera, Royals
  • Cameron Maybin, Angels
  • Joe Mauer, Twins
  • Brett Gardner, Yankees
  • Liam Hendriks, A’s
  • Robinson Cano, Mariners
  • Evan Longoria, Rays
  • Cole Hamels, Texas
  • Marcus Stroman, Blue Jays
  • Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
  • Jason Motte, Braves
  • Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
  • Scooter Gennett, Reds
  • Ian Desmond, Rockies
  • Justin Turner, Dodgers
  • Dee Gordon, Marlins
  • Matt Garza, Brewers
  • T.J. Rivera, Mets
  • Cameron Rupp, Phillies
  • Josh Harrison, Pirates
  • Adam Wainwrightm, Cardinals
  • Hunter Renfroe, Padres
  • Buster Posey, Giants
  • Ryan Zimmerman, Nationals

According to, the winner of the award will be selected by a blue-ribbon panel that includes the Commissioner, representatives from MLB-affiliated networks, MLB Advanced Media, and, last but not least, Vera Clemente, Roberto’s wife and MLB’s goodwill ambassador.

The only two former Cubs’ winners include Rick Sutcliffe (1987) and Sammy Sosa (1998), but something tells me Rizzo will be joining that short list soon.


Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @Michael_Cerami.