Let's Re-Watch Miguel Cabrera Win the First Triple Crown Award in Nearly 50 Years

Social Navigation

Let’s Re-Watch Miguel Cabrera Win the First Triple Crown Award in Nearly 50 Years

Baseball Is Fun

Baseball has come a long way in the last 10-15 years, with the introduction and eventual acceptance of advanced analytics, sabermetrics, and “moneyball.”

But even with an evolving understanding of the game, there will always be an affinity towards those players that rack up the hits, drive in the runs, and hit the ball out of the park – it’s human nature.

But back before the 2012 season, it had been 45 years since a single player had led the leauge in all three categories. Of course, I’m referring to the Triple-Crown and the league’s last winner, Carl Yastrzemski from the 1967 Boston Red Sox.

In fact, from the beginning of baseball until 2011, only 15 players have ever done it, and a list of their names is nothing short of a collection of legends:

But in 2012, one player added his name to the list. And boy was it fun to watch.

So sit back, pop in some headphones, and relive the season Miguel Cabrera led the league in batting average, runs batted in, and home runs:

It probably goes without saying, but Cabrera won his first of two American League MVP awards that season.

He may be just 33 years old, but Cabrera seems ticketed for the Hall-of-Fame already.

And for good reason:

  • 67.9 Career WAR (71st – All-Time)
  • 11x All-Star
  • 2x MVP
  • AL Triple Crown (2012)
  • 7x Silver Slugger Award
  • 2x Hank Aaron Award
  • 4x AL Batting Champion
  • 2x AL Home Run Leader
  • 2x AL RBI Leader

And for what it’s worth, after slashing .316/.393/.563 in 2016, various systems are projecting another monster season from Miguel Cabrera in 2017:

Steamer: .310/.394/.541 with 31 Home Runs
Fans (22): .313/.388/.529 with 30 Home Runs

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami