When You Emphatically Ring Up A Batter ... On Strike Two

Social Navigation


When You Emphatically Ring Up A Batter … On Strike Two

Baseball Is Fun

Earlier this season, umpire CB Bucknor took some heat for making one of the worst “foul-tip” calls at the very end of the Nationals/Braves game (forcing the Nats to effectively get the third out twice). However, that wasn’t his first oopsie.

Watch as he punches out Seth Smith with one of the more audible “Striiiiiiike Three!” calls you’ll ever hear on a TV broadcast (from back in 2013):

Fortunately, the mistake was corrected and Smith got another pitch (though he promptly grounded out to the shortstop).

I’m glad Bucknor laughs it off – effectively taking responsibility for his mistake – but yeesh … don’t let that happen too often.


Latest from Bleacher Nation:


Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami