Wrong Place, Wrong Time: 2nd Base Umpire Might've Cost the Dodgers Game Two

Social Navigation

Wrong Place, Wrong Time: 2nd Base Umpire Might’ve Cost the Dodgers Game Two

Baseball Is Fun

The Astros and Dodgers put on a pretty wild Game Two of the World Series last night, including, among many things, some of the most fun home run troll jobs by young stars Yasiel Puig and Carlos Correa in extra innings.

But before the Astros were able to tie the series up with a win in the 11th, the Dodgers nearly stole a victory in the bottom of the 10th. Or rather, a victory was (maybe) stolen from them … by the umpire … on accident. Let me take you there.

After falling down 5-3 in the top of the tenth, the Dodgers began to answer back in the bottom half with Puig’s solo home run. But the rally was briefly paused, when Astros reliever Ken Giles promptly struck out the next two batters.

But with two outs and a one-run deficit, Logan Forsythe drew a walk, wound up on second on a wild pitch, and ultimately scored on Enrique Hernandez’s single. Hernandez, meanwhile, was able to advance to second base on the throw home.

Then, with the game-winning run in scoring position, new Astros reliever Chris Devenski tried to end the threat with a pick off of Hernandez at second. The only problem is that his throw was WAY off the mark.

Fortunately for him … the umpire was standing in just the right spot:

If that ball doesn’t hit the umpire, Hernandez ends up on at least third base, with the possibility that he could’ve scored depending on how far the ball trickled into the outfield.

And seriously, he might’ve been able to score, as Cameron Maybin was shifted way over to right-center:

Instead, he stayed where he was, Chris Taylor flew out to center, and the Astros would go on to win it in the next inning.

What a crazy turn of events.

Latest from Bleacher Nation:

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami