Three Bears Named to PWFA All-Rookie Team

Social Navigation

Three Bears Named to PWFA All-Rookie Team

Chicago Bears

The future is bright for the Chicago Bears if these three players continue to build on successful rookie seasons.

Running back Jordan Howard, linebacker Leonard Floyd and center Cody Whitehair were named the Pro Football Writers of America All-Rookie Team on Tuesday. Only the San Diego Chargers (3) and Kansas City Chiefs (4) had as many or more players named to the All-Rookie squad than the Bears.

This is the third straight season in which the Bears have had multiple rookies named to the PFWA All-Rookie Team. The 2015 group included defensive lineman Eddie Goldman and safety Adrian Amos, while the 2014 team featured cornerback Kyle Fuller and punter Pat O’Donnell.

The All-Rookie Offense featured two of the three Bears with Howard joining Elliott at running back and Whitehair as the leading center. Being named to the All-Rookie Team is quite an honor for the Bears’ pair considering where both started.

Howard was behind second-year running back Jeremy Langford – who came off a 1,000-yard rushing season as a rookie – and Ka’Deem Carey on the depth chart before storming onto the scene and getting his first career start in Week 4.

Whitehair played tackle at college and was expected to play guard in the NFL before Josh Sitton fell into the Bears’ laps, which moved the Bears’ second-round pick to center – a position he didn’t play while in college at Kansas State. Whitehair made every start at center in 2016, but could be on the move in 2017 depending on the health of Hroniss Grasu.

Floyd was the only Bears defensive rookie to be named to the team, making it as one of the three linebackers. He registered seven sacks in 12 games despite missing some time early in the year with a calf injury and late in the season with concussion problems.

Dallas Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott won Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year honors after leading the league in with 1,631 rushing yards, while Chargers defensive end Joey Bosa – who led all rookies with 10.5 sacks – earned Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.

Author: Luis Medina

Luis Medina is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at@lcm1986.