NFL Finally Confirms the Obvious: Zach Miller's Touchdown Catch Was a Touchdown

Social Navigation

NFL Finally Confirms the Obvious: Zach Miller’s Touchdown Catch Was a Touchdown

Chicago Bears News

We didn’t need the NFL’s too-little, too-late ruling that Zach Miller’s incredible touchdown grab in Week 8 (that was taken away) ultimately should’ve stayed a touchdown, as it was called on the field.

But it’s nice that we have some confirmation:

As we discussed Friday, the NFL’s catch rule is on the verge of getting an update … again. The proposed re-write of the NFL’s catch rule would have allowed Miller to keep his touchdown, but also would have had implications on Dez Bryant’s infamous postseason non-catch, Jesse James’ surviving of the ground, Calvin Johnson’s overturned catch, and so many others that we truly can’t list them all in one spot.

But for the sake of this post, let’s circle back to Week 8 when the Bears were trying to mount a comeback against the Saints on the road, and it looked like Chicago was about to make some real progress.

Rookie quarterback Mitch Trubisky had led the team to back-to-back wins and was looking to make it three-in-a-row with a comeback against the NFC South leading Saints. With the Bears trailing 14-3 in the third quarter, Trubisky fired what appeared to be a 25-yard touchdown strike to Miller. But upon further review, the NFL’s replay crew overturned the call, ruled it an incomplete pass, and the Bears had to settle for a field goal in a game they would lose 20-12.

But that loss was the furthest thing from anyone’s mind after Miller sustained that gruesome injury. Miller underwent eight surgeries, leading one sports injury analyst to suggest his career was undoubtedbly over. And to add insult to injury, Riveron went to video in an attempt to explain the overturned touchdown, though it wasn’t convincing in the least.

Nearly five months later, justice has been restored (kinda) and Miller’s catch will be remembered as being on the right side of football history – even if it didn’t count in the box score.

And with confirmation, Miller shared the perfect response:

Check. Mate.


HEAD DOWN TO THE COMMENTS OR SHARE THIS SWELL POST WITH YOUR FRIENDS:

Luis Medina

Luis is the Lead Writer at The Ten-Yard Line, and you can find him on Twitter at @lcm1986.