DOUBLE BOOM! Matt Nagy Named PFWA's Coach of the Year, Vic Fangio Tabbed Top Assistant

Social Navigation

DOUBLE BOOM! Matt Nagy Named PFWA’s Coach of the Year, Vic Fangio Tabbed Top Assistant

Chicago Bears

The Chicago Bears’ season might be over, but the accolades for a job well done continue to roll in.

Check it out:

The Pro Football Writers of America named Bears Head Coach Matt Nagy their NFL Coach of the Year for 2018. As you’re well-aware, Nagy inherited a franchise that went 14-34 in its previous three seasons and hadn’t put together a non-losing season since 2013, a winning year since 2012, or a postseason appearance since 2010. But with new ideas at the top, an injection of new talent, and development by young players on the roster, the Bears went from al that ugliness to winning 12 games and the NFC North in 2018. Change starts at the top, and that’s, in part, Nagy, so give the credit where it’s due.

Of course, this isn’t to say Nagy did it all on his own. The Bears’ success wouldn’t have been possible without a stout defense led by a future NFL head coach.

Defensive Coordinator Vic Fangio was selected as the PFWA’s Assistant Coach of the Year. The Fangio-led Bears defense led the league in points, interceptions, total takeaways, rushing yards allowed, and net yards gained per pass, while also allowing the fewest first offensive first downs and yielding the third fewest total yards. It’s a group that featured three All-Pros, sent four starters to the Pro Bowl, and three Pro Bowl alternates. Fangio parlayed the success of the 2018 team’s defense into his first head-coaching job with the Denver Broncos. We wish Coach Fangio the best of luck the rest of the way, save for next year’s matchup against the Bears.

As for Nagy, he becomes the sixth Bears coach to earn PFWA’s top coach honors and the first since Lovie Smith in 2005. Prior Bears Coach of the Year winners include Dick Jauron (2001), Mike Ditka (1985, 1988), and Jack Pardee (1976). The 2001 Bears were an outlier during what was otherwise a disastrous era of football under Jauron, but Ditka and Smith are two of the winningest coaches in franchise history.

If Nagy were to follow in the footsteps of Smith and take his team to back-to-back playoff appearances or even do like Ditka and win the whole enchilada, then perhaps we’ll look back at this fondly as the beginning of something special.

Author: Luis Medina

Luis Medina is a Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at@lcm1986.