Giannis Tried to Steal a Triple-Double, and the NBA Said "Nice Try ... But No, You Can't Do That"

Social Navigation

Giannis Tried to Steal a Triple-Double, and the NBA Said “Nice Try … But No, You Can’t Do That”

Chicago Bulls

The NBA announced today they’re rescinding Giannis Antetokounmpo’s 10th rebound last night against the Wizards and thus taking away his triple-double.

In case you missed it, the Greek Freak tried pulling a page from the Ricky Davis playbook to pick up his 5th triple-double of the 2022-23 season.

Not so fast, Giannis!

The league ruled that Giannis Antetokounmpo rebound didn’t count because the rules state that on a FG attempt, a player must have “intent to score” for it to count. Since Giannis clearly had zero intention of scoring, the league pulled back his would-be 10th rebound of the night against Washington.

To be honest, I’m pretty stunned that the league went back and took the rebound away. The NBA is such a player-friendly league and seems to always go above and beyond to make sure players are protected. For them to go out of their way to take the rebound away was a little surprising, but 100% the right call in terms of the rule.

Antetokounmpo still finished with 23 Points, 13 Assists, and 9 Rebounds on the night in a 117-111 win over the Wizards, so not a bad day at the office.

Author: Matt Rooney

Matt is from the Chicagoland area and has been working in Chicago sports since 2015 with stops at WGN Radio, the Chicago Blackhawks, Stadium, and NBC Sports Chicago prior to landing at Betsperts. Matt covers just about everything for Betsperts and Bleacher Nation but focuses on the NHL and college football.