Chicago Cubs 2010 Minor League Rosters Are Set

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs 2010 Minor League Rosters Are Set

Chicago Cubs

Without delay, here are the 2010 minor league rosters for the Chicago Cubs. Up first, the Iowa Cubs:

Among the returners is the Iowa Cubs’ 2009 MVP, catcher Chris Robinson. Robinson was also Iowa’s lone representative at the 2009 Triple-A All Star game. Outfielder Sam Fuld, who led Iowa with 11 outfield assists in 2009 is also on Iowa’s Opening Day roster. J.R. Mathes, who received Iowa’s 2009 Pitcher of the Year honors returns to the staff. Last season the southpaw led the team with 12 wins, which was also third-best in the 16-team Pacific Coast League.

Joining Mathes as returning pitchers are righties Mitch Atkins, Jeff Stevens and Blake Parker and lefty John Gaub. Rounding out the pitching staff will be newcomers Jeff Gray, Casey Coleman, Scott Maine, Brian Schlitter, Thomas Diamond, Jay Jackson and Mike Parisi.

Handling catching duties for the Cubs will be Welington Castillo, veteran Mark Johnson, and Robinson. Johnson will open the season on the disabled list.

The versatile infield includes Darwin Barney, Matt Camp, Micah Hoffpauir, Marquez Smith, Bryan LaHair and Bobby Scales, who made his Major League debut last season with Chicago.

Fuld will be joined by Jim Adduci, Jason Dubois and Brad Snyder in the outfield. Iowa Cubs Press Release.

And for the AA Tennessee Smokies, who will be headlined by Starlin Castro:

A 2009 Futures Game participant and 2009 Florida State League Mid-Season All-Star while with High-A Daytona, Castro hit .303 for the Smokies during last year’s Southern League playoffs and then .376 in the Arizona Fall League. Joining him again in the infield will be his 2009 teammates Blake Lalli and Tony Thomas. Nate Samson will also be back for a second stint in Tennessee, along with two newcomers to the team, Jake Opitz and Ryan Flaherty. Flaherty, rated #9 among Cubs prospects according to Baseball America, was Chicago’s second-round pick in the 2008 MLB Draft.

In the outfield, Brandon Guyer and Ty Wright return to the Smokies in 2010. Russ Canzler, another member of the 2009 team, will switch from first base to the outfield. They will be joined by Tony Campana, who hit .284 in 126 games last season in Class A between Peoria and Daytona and Morristown, Tenn. native Matthew Spencer, who will begin the season on the disabled list.

Veteran leadership is abound behind the plate, as Robinson Chirinos and Steve Clevenger have each spent part of the past two seasons at Smokies Park. Chirinos was a 2009 Florida State League Mid-Season All-Star, while Clevenger hit .364 for the Smokies last year before heading to Iowa.

Nine of the 12 pitchers on this year’s Opening Day roster were part of the Smokies’ run to the Southern League Championship Series in 2009. The staff is led by Andrew Cashner, rated the #4 Cubs prospect by Baseball America. Joining him will be returnees David Cales, Marco Carrillo, Hung-Wen Chen, Alex Maestri, Marcos Mateo, Jake Muyco, Jeremy Papelbon and Dustin Sasser, as well as newcomers Austin Bibens-Dirkx, Ryan Buchter and Craig Muschko. Chris Carpenter and Casey Lambert, both members of the 2009 staff as well, will begin the season on the DL. Tennessee Smokies Press Release.

For the High A Daytona Cubs, we’ll borrow the list from our friends at CCO:
· Chris Archer, RHP
· Alberto Cabrera, RHP
· Rafael Dolis, RHP
· Chris Husbey, RHP
· Oswaldo Martinez, RHP
· Mike Perconte, RHP
· Brooks Raley, LHP
· Dae-Eun Rhee, RHP
· Chris Rusin, LHP
· Ryan Searle, RHP
· Aaron Shafer, RHP
· Chris Siegfried, LHP
· Luke Sommer, LHP

· Michael Brenly, C
· Mark Reed, C

· Marwin Gonzalez, 2B
· Junior Lake, SS
· DJ LeMahieu, SS
· David Macias, INF
· Josh Vitters, 3B
· Ryne White, 1B

· Smailey Borges, OF
· Kyler Burke, OF
· Brett Jackson, OF
· Nelson Perez, OF

And lastly, for the A ball Peoria Cubs, also borrowed from CCO:

· Jeffry Antigua, LHP
· Jeffrey Beliveau, LHP
· Steven Grife, RHP
· Su-Min Jung, RHP
· Jordan Latham RHP
· Corey Martin, RHP
· Kenneth McNutt, RHP
· Ronny Morla, RHP
· Jonathan Nagel, RHP
· Andres Quezada, RHP
· Nicholas Struck, RHP
· Robert Whitenack, RHP

· Mario Mercedes, C
· Jovan Rosa, C

· Justin Bour, 1B
· Matt Cerda, IF
· Hak-Ju Lee, SS
· George Matheus, 3B
· Greg Rohan, 3B
· Logan Watkins, 2B

· Richard Jones, OF
· Jesus Morelli, OF
· Alvaro Ramiez, OF
· Jose Valdez, OF

Latest from Bleacher Nation:

Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Cubs Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.