Chicago Cubs Lineup: Mike Montgomery Bats Eighth

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Mike Montgomery Bats Eighth

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs host the Royals tonight at Sloan Park for an unusual Spring night game.

Here’s tonight’s Cubs lineup:

  1. Jon Jay, CF
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  4. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  5. Addison Russell, SS
  6. Willson Contreras, C
  7. Jason Heyward, RF
  8. Mike Montgomery, P
  9. John Andreoli, LF

Starting Pitcher: Mike Montgomery

Joe Maddon is turning up for the season tonight, allowing Mike Montgomery to bat for himself in the eighth spot of the lineup. That likely indicates that we will indeed see Montgomery start early on in the year (not entirely unexpected) and that Maddon may bat the pitcher eighth again like he did in 2015.

Other than that, Jason Heyward and Willson Contreras flipped spots in the order, but I wouldn’t read too much into that just yet.

As usual, we’ll have a full Pre-Gamin’ for you closer to game time.

Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Cubs Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.