Chicago Cubs Lineup: Ian Happ Remains in Center Field

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Ian Happ Remains in Center Field

Chicago Cubs

With an early afternoon game today, the lineup post comes out before the Series Preview. But don’t worry, that’ll be out soon too.

Here’s the Cubs lineup for the first of three games against the first-place Brewers:

  1. Kyle Schwarber, LF
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  4. Ian Happ, CF
  5. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  6. Willson Contreras, C
  7. Javy Baez, SS
  8. Eddie Butler, P
  9. Jon Jay, RF

So, not many surprises here this afternoon (well, now that we’re used to seeing one of the Cubs top prospects, typically a second baseman, trot out to center field everyday like it’s no big deal). Kyle Schwarber plays left field and leads off, followed by Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Ian Happ, and Ben Zobrist.

In terms of approach at the plate, is there a more frustrating 1-5 in all of baseball (seriously)? Each of those hitters are guys that will work counts and gladly take their walks. That’s gotta be one annoying way to start a ball game.

Other than that, Jon Jay covers right field for Jason Heyward (who’s making his way back slowly but surely), and Eddie Butler gets his second start with the big league team, in his Wrigley Field debut – we’ll talk about him more later.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time.

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami