Chicago Cubs Lineup: Bryant, Baez and the Seven Lefties

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Bryant, Baez and the Seven Lefties

Chicago Cubs

After winning five straight games against the Cardinals and Marlins, the Cubs have dropped their last two contests at Wrigley Field.

And with Addison Russell absent from the team and Kyle Hendricks on the disabled list, the good feelings from a few days ago have suddenly evaporated. Hopefully, getting back in the win column can shake off these negative vibes.

Here’s the Cubs’ lineup for this afternoon:

  1. Ian Happ, CF
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  4. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  5. Jason Heyward, RF
  6. Javy Baez, SS
  7. Miguel Montero, C
  8. Mike Montgomery, P
  9. Kyle Schwarber, LF

Ian Happ continues to lead off for the Cubs and given his production at the plate, and, frankly, in center field, that’s perfectly fine by me. Following Happ is Bryant, Rizzo, and Zobrist in their usual spots at two, three, and four.

With a righty on the mound for the Rockies, Jason Heyward takes the fifth spot in the lineup, and Miguel Montero catches Mike Montgomery. Altogether, there’s a total of seven lefties in the lineup this afternoon, but the Rockies starter, German Marquez, has actually been pretty split neutral for his brief Major Leauge career.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (1:20 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami