REPORT: MLB Informed Cubs and Padres That Anthony Rizzo's Collision Violated the Rules

Social Navigation

REPORT: MLB Informed Cubs and Padres That Anthony Rizzo’s Collision Violated the Rules

Chicago Cubs

I see the headline, and my instinctive reaction is a shrugging, brow-furrowed ‘kay.

But I suppose we’ll have to wait to see if there are any practical consequences to Ken Rosenthal’s report that MLB has informed the Cubs and Padres that Anthony Rizzo’s collision at the plate last night was a violation of the rules.

We discussed the play at length this morning, and if you missed any of the video or discussion, catch yourself up there. Short version? Catcher Austin Hedges left a lane open for a slide, Rizzo was slightly inside the baseline starting his slide when Hedges swung to tag, Rizzo powered through him, and that was that. To my eye, Rizzo did not change his then-current path to induce contact with Hedges – which would be a violation of MLB rule 7.13 – but he also certainly didn’t go out of his way to avoid contact.

In any case, you can see Rosenthal’s report here, which leaves open the question whether Rizzo will face punishment from MLB. While I think debate about the slide/collision is worthy, punishment for it – given the current rules and the many replays I’ve watched – seems extreme.

(Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Whether MLB’s note will have an impact on tonight’s game also remains to be seen. Now knowing that they were in the “right” in MLB’s eyes, will the Padres chill and not throw one at Rizzo? Or will they feel even more emboldened to take matters into their own rock-hurling hands?

Hopefully this is the end of things.

Latest from Bleacher Nation:

Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Cubs Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.