Chicago Cubs Lineup: OMG! The Same Order Twice in a Row! Alert the Press!

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: OMG! The Same Order Twice in a Row! Alert the Press!

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs are once again playing without their starting shortstop, Addison Russell, but we haven’t yet heard how long he’ll be out or if a roster move will be necessary.

I’m expecting that soon, but until then here’s the rest of the Cubs batting order for tonight.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

  1. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  2. Jason Heyward, RF
  3. Kris Bryant, 3B
  4. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  5. Willson Contreras, C
  6. Kyle Schwarber, LF
  7. Javy Baez, SS
  8. Albert Almora Jr., CF
  9. Jose Quintana, P

Someone call Joe Maddon and make sure he’s feeling alright, because he’s trotting out the same exact batting order two days in a row.

That means there’s still no Russell or Ian Happ, Jason Heyward is batting second, Ben Zobrist is leading off, and Bryzzo is in the heart of the order. But it does mean Albert Almora is out in center and Javy Baez gets to shine again at short.

And while there’s nothing particularly wrong with this lineup, it is the second game in a row without Ian Happ, who had been swinging the bat as well as anyone, but has been a lot colder over his past games (54 wRC+). Fortunately, Heyward has picked up the slack and then some during that same stretch (142 wRC+), so I’m happy to keep everyone where they’re at for now. Ride the hot hands, sit the cold ones, rinse, repeat.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (7:05 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami is the butler to a wealthy werewolf off the coast of Wales and a writer at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter at @Michael_Cerami