Chicago Cubs Lineup: Ian Happ Keeps On Keeping On

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Ian Happ Keeps On Keeping On

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs are beginning another long Wrigley Field series tonight, and here’s how they’ll line up for Game One against the Diamondbacks.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

  1. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Albert Almora Jr., CF
  4. Javy Baez, 2B
  5. Willson Contreras, C
  6. Addison Russell, SS
  7. Ben Zobrist, RF
  8. Ian Happ, LF
  9. Luke Farrell, P

Against the tough left-hander, Patrick Corbin, lefties Jason Heyward and Kyle Schwarber are getting the night off. In their place, we’ll get the switch hitters, Ben Zobrist and Ian Happ, in right and left field. Obviously, some external circumstances are always going to help dictate the lineup, but it certainly feels like Ian Happ (124 wRC+) has been playing a lot more often lately.

And for good reason!

Important note: Happ hasn’t been nearly as good against left-handers (89 wRC+) as he has right-handers (138 wRC+) this season.

Elsewhere, Anthony Rizzo continues to lead off (and crush it), while Kris Bryant continues to bat second. It’s Addy and Javy up the middle tonight and Willson Contreras behind the plate. The Cubs have been on a nice little stretch lately, but have a tough matchup tonight. Let’s see if they can keep it going.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (7:15 CT)

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami