Chicago Cubs Lineup: Happ Moves Up in the Order

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Happ Moves Up in the Order

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs rocked 8 hits (+2 walks), including 4 for extra bases, en route to scoring 6 runs last night, but it wasn’t enough damage at Coors Field. David Ross is shaking up the batting order a little bit tonight, with Jason Heyward hitting the bench. Let’s take a look.

Chicago Cubs Lineup:

1. Rafael Ortega, CF
2. Willson Contreras, C
3. Ian Happ, RF
4. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
5. David Bote, 2B
6. Frank Schwindel, 1B
7. Johneshwy Fargas, LF
8. Sergio Alcantara, SS
9. Alec Mills, P

With Heyward on the bench, Ian Happ is inhering right field and patting third in the lineup, between the Cubs top two thumpers, Willson Contreras and Patrick Wisdom.

It’s not much, but since July 20th (his last 41 PAs), Happ has an 89 wRC+ with a 14.6% walk rate, a 24.4% strikeout rate, 2 doubles, and 2 homers.

Jonathan Gray, pitching for the Rockies tonight, doesn’t have very significant lefty/righty splits, but lefties do strikeout less often and walk more. Maybe Happ can get something going.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (7:40 CT).

Jon Gray:

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami