Chicago Cubs Lineup: Switch-Hitting Villar in for Madrigal

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Switch-Hitting Villar in for Madrigal

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs just split a two-game series with the Pirates in Pittsburgh last week, but they should be aiming for much more than that over a four-game set at Wrigley Field starting tonight. Here’s the Cubs lineup for Game 1 against the right-hander Bryse Wilson.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

1. Rafael Ortega, RF
2. Seiya Suzuki, DH
3. Willson Contreras, C
4. Ian Happ, LF
5. Frank Schwindel, 1B
6. Jonathan Villar, 2B
7. Jason Heyward, CF
8. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
9. Nico Hoerner, SS

Nick Madrigal has just started to hit the ball better lately, but Wilson has allowed lefties to hit .297/.375/.534 (.382 wOBA) off him in his career, so I have no problem sneaking Jonathan Villar’s switch-hitting bat in there at second base.

Indeed, outside of that decision, this is basically the Cubs standard versus traditional split righties lineup, with the only exception being Jason Heyward in center field, Rafael Ortega in right, and Seiya Suzuki at DH.

As usual, we’ll have your full lineup post closer to game time (6:40 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami