Chicago Cubs Lineup: Hopefully the Last Day of Rest for Seiya Suzuki's Ankle

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Hopefully the Last Day of Rest for Seiya Suzuki’s Ankle

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs will try again this afternoon to win their first series of the year since facing the Brewers at Wrigley Field to kick off the season. Here’s their lineup – with starting pitcher Keegan Thompson! – against the righty Nick Martinez.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

1. Rafael Ortega, RF
2. Willson Contreras, C
3. Ian Happ, LF
4. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
5. Alfonso Rivas, 1B
6. Nico Hoerner, SS
7. Frank Schwindel, DH
8. Jason Heyward, CF
9. Jonathan Villar, 2B

SP: Keegan Thompson, RHP

First off, it’s a bummer not to see Seiya Suzuki in there today (he hurt his ankle lunging for first base two nights ago), but it’s not entirely surprising. With an off-day tomorrow, the Cubs can sit him one for just one more game while really maximizing the time off his feet. It was just a winding path to get here. At first, he was day-to-day, then he was in the starting lineup last night, then he was scratched just before the game, then he pinch-hit in the 9th, before being lifted for a pinch-runner.

My gut tells me he’ll be back this Friday against the Diamondbacks, but just keep those fingers crossed. In the meantime, he should still be available off the bench as needed.

As for the actual lineup, well there isn’t really a lot to discuss. With Suzuki out, the outfield is Happ-Heyward-Ortega again and with Nick Madrigal out the infield is Wisdom-Hoerner-Villar-Rivas. Frank Schwindel is right back in there as the DH after nearly icing the game with a grand slam last night.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (3:10 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami