Chicago Cubs Lineup: Rafael Ortega Over Jason Heyward

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Rafael Ortega Over Jason Heyward

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs have a rubber match on their hands this afternoon, with Justin Steele squaring up against the righty Humberto Castellanos and the Diamondbacks. Here’s the Cubs lineup for the finale in Arizona.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

1. Rafael Ortega, CF
2. Willson Contreras, C
3. Ian Happ, LF
4. Seiya Suzuki, RF
5. Alfonso Rivas, 1B
6. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
7. Frank Schwindel, DH
8. Jonathan Villar, 2B
9. Ildemaro Vargas, SS

Because of all the injuries, David Ross doesn’t have a lot to play with here. Nico Hoerner and Nick Madrigal are still out of commission, so Ildemaro Vargas and Jonathan Villar continue to be your double-play combo up the middle. Willson Contreras is behind the plate and Alfonso Rivas continues to operate as the starting first baseman.

The only real choice made today, then, is picking Rafael Ortega over Jason Heyward in center field, which leaves the DH spot open for Frank Schwindel.

The Cubs could’ve snuck another left-handed bat in there by sitting Schwindel and having Heyward or Ortega take over DH, but there are five lefties in the lineup already and Castellanos doesn’t carry particularly strong lefty/righty splits.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time.

Latest from Bleacher Nation:

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami