Chicago Cubs Lineup: Rafael Ortega Batting Third

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Rafael Ortega Batting Third

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs are back at it tonight with a 6:05 start against righty J.T. Brubaker and the Pirates. Here’s David Ross’ lineup for the first of four games in Pittsburgh.

Chicago Cubs Lineup:

  1. Christopher Morel, CF
  2. Willson Contreras, C
  3. Rafael Ortega, DH
  4. Ian Happ, LF
  5. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
  6. Jonathan Villar, 2B
  7. Nico Hoerner, SS
  8. Jason Heyward, RF
  9. Alfonso Rivas, 1B

SP: Caleb Kilian, RHP

Not a lot of special consideration here today, with your normal top-two, Morel and Contreras, followed by Rafael Ortega at DH, but moved way up in the order (because Alfsono Rivas is filling in at first base while Frank Schwindel is out).

Ian Happ is your cleanup hitter, Hoerner and Villar are your double-play duo, and Heyward is out in right field.

J.T. Brubaker doesn’t have very meaningful lefty/right splits this season, but lefties have historically hit him better than righties, and the Cubs have three lefties plus two switch hitters in there tonight.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (6:05 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami