2022 MLB Home Run Derby: Matchups, Broadcast Info, Open Thread, More

Social Navigation

2022 MLB Home Run Derby: Matchups, Broadcast Info, Open Thread, More

Chicago Cubs

Pete Alonso will defend his Home Run Derby crown tonight in Los Angeles as he aims to become the first player to win the derby three straight times and the second player to win the event three times (Ken Griffey Jr. is the only other).

On the other side of the bracket, Kyle Schwarber and his 29 home runs are second-best in baseball (Aaron Judge has 33), and veteran Albert Pujols will compete in the derby for the first time since 2015.

It should be a good one!

Broadcast Info

•   Location: Dodger Stadium
•   Time: 7:00 CT
•   Broadcast Info: ESPN

The Field

Matchup 1: (1) Kyle Schwarber vs. (8) Albert Pujols
Matchup 2: (4) Juan Soto vs. (5) José Ramirez
Matchup 3: (2) Pete Alonso vs. (7) Ronald Acuna Jr.
Matchup 4: (3) Corey Seager vs. (6) Julio Rodríguez


Here’s what the Bleacher Nation staff (except for Eli, who is enjoying a much-deserved afternoon off today) thinks is going to happen tonight:

2022 MLB Home Run Derby Rules

Format: The event will be a single elimination bracket, with three total rounds. In the first two rounds, each batter will get three minutes/round (down from four minutes in 2019) to hit as many home runs as possible. The clock starts with the release of the first pitch and ends when the timer hits zero (if a pitch is thrown before the clock hits zero, the home run will count). In the final round, each player has just two minutes to hit as many home runs as possible. The player with the most home runs advances.

Timeouts: Players can stop the clock once for 45 seconds in each round, but only during regulation (i.e. not during “Bonus Time”)

Bonus Time: 30 seconds of bonus time will be awarded to all batters (which makes me wonder if that’s actually even “bonus” time, but whatever) at the end of regulation. And an additional 30 seconds will be awarded for hitting at least one home run that equals or exceeds 475 feet in regulation time. Batters will get a one-minute break before bonus time begins,.

Tie-breakers: Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no time stoppage. If that results in a tie, batters will square up in a three-swing swing off until there is a winner. If that results in a tie, two-man sack races will be held on consecutive Sunday’s until a winner is crowned.

Author: Patrick K. Flowers

Patrick is a Staff Writer at Bleacher Nation. You can follow him on Twitter @PatrickKFlowers.