Chicago Cubs Lineup: Nick Madrigal Leads off at the Field of Dreams!

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Nick Madrigal Leads off at the Field of Dreams!

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs are playing tonight’s game in Iowa at the Field of Dreams. The matchup with Cincinnati leaves a lot to be desired relative to last season (Yankees/White Sox, both in contention), but it should be pretty dang cool nonetheless. Here’s David Ross lineup for the special night.

Chicago Cubs Lineup:

  1. Nick Madrigal, 2B
  2. Willson Contreras, C
  3. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
  4. Seiya Suzuki, RF
  5. Nico Hoerner, SS
  6. Ian Happ, LF
  7. Nelson Velázquez, DH
  8. P.J. Higgins, 1B
  9. Chris Morel, CF

SP: Drew Smyly, LHP

With a left-handed pitcher, Nick Lodolo, on the mound for the Reds tonight, Rafael Ortega is grabbing some bench in favor of Chris Morel, who’ll play center field. However, Morel’s not the one leading off tonight. That honor – surprisingly – goes to second baseman Nick Madrigal (hey … he has been swinging a nice bat since coming off the IL). Patrick Wisdom is back at third base tonight, taking over for Zach McKinstry, who’s owned the position since coming to the Cubs at the trade deadline. And that leaves first base open for P.J. Higgins.

Franmil Reyes is not in the lineup tonight. Instead, Nelson Velázquez is going to be the DH, leaving catching duties to Willson Contreras, batting second.

Ian Happ, Nico Hoerner, and Seiya Suzuki are at their usual spots around the diamond, but Happ drops down to sixth in the order, as the only non true righty in the lineup (Lodolo has really struggled against righties this season, more on that later).

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (6:15 CT on FOX).

Latest from Bleacher Nation:

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami