Controversy Looms Large Over Brooks Koepka’s Masters Lead
Brooks Koepka is currently dominating the field at The Masters. As of this writing Koepka has a 5-shot lead over three players after shooting a five-under 67 on Friday. A Koepka Masters win would come with some controversy. It would have nothing to do with his status as a member of LIV Golf.
On the 15th hole Thursday, Koepka hit a 5-iron to within 24 feet from 231 yards out on the par-5 hole. Koepka made a two-putt for birdie and move to five-under. After two more birdies Koepka ended the day tied for the lead at seven under. So what’s the controversy?
If you look at the video, it looks as if Koepka’s caddy Ricky Elliott says, “five” to Gary Woodland’s caddy meaning Koepka just hit a five iron. The PGA rules state that a player is not allowed to give advice to any other player on the course. Under this rule caddies count as an extension of the player and if found guilty of a violation, Koepka would’ve been penalized two strokes.
After the round Masters officials issued a statement and opted not to penalize Koepka, “All involved were adamant that no advice was given or requested. Consequently, the Committee determined there was no breach of the Rules.”
After the round Koepka denied any wrongdoing saying, “ [Woodland] had no idea what we were hitting. I know that fact because GW asked me what we hit walking off,” he said.
Why Did The Masters Not Penalize Brooks Koepka?
The video looks emphatically clear, though. You don’t have to be a lip reader to see Elliott say “five.” Why The Masters didn’t penalize Koepka won’t be known. The LIV vs PGA battle has been a delicate matter in Augusta this week, but both sides are unwilling to engage in negativity.
Koepka is a four-time major champion who struggled with injuries the past couple of years. He is healthy and potentially looks to be on his way to winning his first green jacket. So If he does, particularly by two strokes or fewer, people will bring up the controversy on 15 on Thursday.