RBC Heritage History and Past Winners

Social Navigation

RBC Heritage History and Past Winners - Davis Love III looks to complete his 6-pack of wins here.

RBC Heritage History and Past Winners

Golf, News

The PGA Tour moves on from Augusta National to it’s traditional post Masters tournament. The Tour is headed to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina and we’ve taken the time to bring you some RBC Heritage History and Past Winners below.

RBC Heritage History and Past Winners

The RBC Heritage has been a part of the Tour since 1969. Held at the Harbour Town Golf Links, golfers are in for a short but challenging course with narrow fairways and some tiny greens.

RBC Heritage Odds

The Heritage Classic, as it was once named, first tee’d off on Thanksgiving weekend in 1969. The presence of both Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus drew in even the most skeptical fans for the event. Palmer won, his first win in over a year, and helped launch one of the most anticipated tournaments each year.

Get full access to all premium picks, data, tools for as little as $8

After it’s inaguaral event, this tournament has been played in September, March, and beginning in 1983, April. This was the first time The Heritage was held immediatley after The Masters and has stuck in this slot ever since. They did have to move the tournament in 2020 due to Covid but it remains cemented into it’s current schedule spot.

RBC Heritage History

One of the coolest and most unique parts of the RBC Heritage is how it begins each year. The previous champ is awarded his Captain of Gentelmen Golfers plaque. Then uses an authentic old-school hickory club to hit a featherie-style ball into the local Calibogue Sound. He does this at the same time a cannon is shot marking the beginning of the tournament.

Jordan Spieth won the RBC Heritage last season in a playoff against Patrick Cantlay marking his first win here. There are nine golfer who have won multiple times in South Carolina with the last being Jim Furyk in 2010 and 2015. And Davis Love III holds the record for the most wins here at 5. See all the winners along with their margin of victory since 2001 below.   

Check out the Full 2023 Preview

RBC Heritage History Past Winners

YearGolferWin Margin
2022Jordan SpiethPlayoff
2021Stewart Cink4
2020Webb Simpson1
2019Pan Cheng-tsung1
2018Satoshi KodairaPlayoff
2017Wesley Bryan1
2016Branden Grace2
2015Jim FurykPlayoff
2014Matt Kuchar1
2013Graeme McDowellPlayoff
2012Carl Pettersson5
2011Brandt SnedekerPlayoff
2010Jim FurykPlayoff
2009Brian Gay10
2008Boo Weekley3
2007Boo Weekley1
2006Aaron Baddeley1
2005Peter Lonard2
2004Stewart CinkPlayoff
2003Davis Love IIIPlayoff
2002Justin Leonard1
2001Jose CoceresPlayoff

Featured Image Credit: Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Author: Brian Twining

Just a regular guy who absolutely loves sports. I've been playing, watching, and recreationally betting on sports for over 30 years. My favorite sports to attack at the sportsbook are Football (NFL/NCAAF), College Basketball, and most recently - the NASCAR Cup Series. I'm not an "expert" and I don't have or use betting models, but I do put in the research and apply that to my wagers which are mostly backed by the trending data with of course a little, as Gibbs from the show NCIS would say "Gut Feeling" contributing to the side chosen. Sports betting should be fun and enjoyable so always play within your means and NEVER chase your losses. You can follow me on Twitter @Brian_Twining - Let's try and win some bets!