PGA Championship History and Past Winners

Social Navigation

PGA Championship History

PGA Championship History and Past Winners

Golf, News

It’s time for one of golfs most prestigious events, the PGA Championship. We’re in Rochester, New York for is poised to be some amazing golf. Before teeing off form the Oak Hill Country Club, let’s review some PGA Championship History and past winners.  

For Best Bets and DFS advice, make sure to check out Betsperts Golf.

PGA Championship History

Way back in 1916, the Pro Golfers Association, or PGA as its known, was created in New York City. That same year it hosted it’s first event, the inaugural PGA Championship at the Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York.

Interestingly enough, it was a match-play tournament from it’s inception in 1916 to 1957. It began utilizing the stroke play format in 1958 and has been scored like this ever since.

Where is the PGA Championship Played?

The tournament has been an annual event ever since, and is now one of the PGA’s four major events on the schedule. Unlike The Masters which is held at the same venue each year, the PGA Championship rotates it’s location just like the other two major tournaments.

Just like this season, most of the venues are in the eastern half of the U.S. with only 10 PGA Championships ever being played out west. It should come as no surprise that The Empire State has played host the most times, considering the PGA was created in New York.

This year will the 14th time New York has hosted the event. With the Oak Hill Country Club doing doing so for the first time since 2013. This will mark the fourth PGA Championship at the Rochester, New York course. Trailing only last season’s venue in Oklahoma, the Southern Hills Country Club, for the most all-time.

When is the tournament played?

When the PGA Championship first got off the ground it was played in August and as the final major event on the schedule. In 2019 however, the PGA decided to shift the event to May and make it the second major of the year. Outside of the 2020 season disrupted by Covid, which threw the entire schedule for a loop, the PGA Championship is slated to tee-off in May for the foreseeable future. Lastly, since it’s launch in 1916, the tournament has been played every year except for 1917 and 1918 for World War 1 and in 1943 during World War 2.   

PGA Championship Past Winners

The list of previous PGA Championship winners is long with it’s over a century of history. During the match-play era, golf greats like Byron Nelson, Sam Snead, and Ben Hogan all lifted the trophy. With Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods being the most successful since transitioning to stroke play. It isn’t always one golfs most recognized players winning here however. As names like Jimmy Walker, Martin Kaymer, and Rich Beem have all taken home the Wanamaker Trophy.

Overall, there are a total of 18 golfers who have won the event multiple times with five winning 3 or more. Tiger Woods is part of this exclusive list, winning 4 PGA Championships and is second to Walter hagen and Jack Nicklaus, who both won 5 times for the most. Last season saw Justin Thomas defeat Will Zalitoris in a very exciting 3-hole playoff to become the most recent multiple time winner.

Opening PGA Championship Odds

Last 20 Winners

YearHost VenueGolferScoreWin Margin
2022Southern Hills Country ClubJustin Thomas-5Playoff
2021Kiawah Island Golf ResortPhil Mickelson-62
2020TPC Harding ParkCollin Morikawa-132
2019Bethpage BlackBrooks Koepka-82
2018Bellerive Country ClubBrooks Koepka-162
2017Quail Hollow Golf CourseJustin Thomas-82
2016Baltusrol Golf ClubJimmy Walker-141
2015Whistling StraitsJason Day-203
2014Valhalla Golf ClubRory McIlroy-161
2013Oak Hill Country ClubJason Dufner-102
2012The Ocean CourseRory McIlroy-138
2011Atlanta Athletic ClubKeegan Bradley-8Playoff
2010Whistling StraitsMartin Kaymer-11Playoff
2009Hazeltine National Golf ClubYang Yong-eun-83
2008Oakland Hills Country ClubPadraig Harrington-32
2007Southern Hills Country ClubTiger Woods-82
2006Medinah Country ClubToger Woods-185
2005Baltusrol Golf ClubPhil Mickelson-41
2004Whistling StraightsVijay Singh-8Playoff
2003Oak Hill Country ClubShaun Micheel-42

Featured Image Credit: Andrew Redington/Getty Images

Author: Brian Twining

Just a regular guy who absolutely loves sports. I've been playing, watching, and recreationally betting on sports for over 30 years. My favorite sports to attack at the sportsbook are Football (NFL/NCAAF), College Basketball, and most recently - the NASCAR Cup Series. I'm not an "expert" and I don't have or use betting models, but I do put in the research and apply that to my wagers which are mostly backed by the trending data with of course a little, as Gibbs from the show NCIS would say "Gut Feeling" contributing to the side chosen. Sports betting should be fun and enjoyable so always play within your means and NEVER chase your losses. You can follow me on Twitter @Brian_Twining - Let's try and win some bets!