Charles Schwab Challenge History and Past Winners

Social Navigation

Charles Schwab Challenge History

Charles Schwab Challenge History and Past Winners

Golf, News

The PGA is headed back to Texas for this week’s Charles Schwab Challenge. We’re in Fort Worth for a tournament that ended in a playoff last season and always provides great golf. Before teeing off form Colonial Country Club, let’s review some Charles Schwab Challenge History and past winners.  

For Best Bets and DFS advice, make sure to check out Betsperts Golf.

Charles Schwab Challenge History

Fort Worth, Texas has long history in the golf community and this season marks the 75th anniversary of the Colonial Country Club. Opened way back in 1936, the course quickly became popular and was chosen to host the 1941 U.S. Open. This sparked interest in an annual event beginning in 1942. But the attacks on Pearl Harbor on December 7th, 1941, caused all future plans to halt until the end of the war.

Four and half years later in May of 1946, the first ever Colonial National Invitation Tournament was held. The tournament became an annual fixture on the PGA schedule. Being played every year, except for 1949 because of flooding, and 1975 because the course hosted the Players Championship until now.

Amazingly, the name of the event remained the Colonial National Invitation for over 40 years. It wasn’t until the 1989 season that it garnered a major sponsor and was renamed the Southwestern Bell Colonial. It reverted back to the Colonial National Invitation for the 1995 event, and would change multiple times before becoming the Charles Schwab Challenge in 2019.

Where is the Charles Schwab Challenge Played?

As has been the case since it’s inception, the Charles Schwab Challenge is played in Fort Worth, Texas at the Colonial Country Club. 

When is the tournament played?

This year’s event will tee-off on Thursday May 25th and run through Sunday, May 28th.    

Charles Schwab Challenge Past Winners

Fittingly, the first ever winner of this event was hometown hero Ben Hogan. He shot an incredible 65 during the final round to overtake Sam Snead and claim the first of his tournament record five wins.

There are 12 golfers who have won this tournament multiple times but Hogan is the only one that has more than two victories. With Chris Kirk (2015-2016) and Ben (‘46-’47, ‘52-’53) as the only players to win back to back years.

Winning scores have ballooned since the tournament’s launch in 1946. As 18 of the last 20 winners scored -10 or better while just three golfers did this from 1946 to 1986. We’ve also seen some close battles of late with two of the last three tournaments being decided via a playoff. Check out the last 20 winners with their tournament score and margin of victory below.

Wanna see the opening odds for this year’s tournament? Check them out HERE

YearGolferScoreWin Margin
2022Sam Burns-9Playoff
2021Jason Kokrak-152
2020Daniel Berger-15Playoff
2019Kevin Na-134
2018Justin Rose-203
2017Kevin Kisner-101
2016Chris Kirk (2)-123
2015Chris Kirk–121
2014Adam Scott−9Playoff
2013Boo Weekley−141
2012Zach Johnson (2)−121
2011David Toms−151
2010Zach Johnson−213
2009Steve Stricker−17Playoff
2008Phil Mickelson (2)−141
2007Rory Sabbatini−14Playoff
2006Tim Herron−12Playoff
2005Kenny Perry (2)−197
2004Steve Flesch−111
2003Kenny Perry−196

Featured Image Credit: Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Author: Brian Twining

Just a regular guy who absolutely loves sports. I've been playing, watching, and recreationally betting on sports for over 30 years. My favorite sports to attack at the sportsbook are Football (NFL/NCAAF), College Basketball, and most recently - the NASCAR Cup Series. I'm not an "expert" and I don't have or use betting models, but I do put in the research and apply that to my wagers which are mostly backed by the trending data with of course a little, as Gibbs from the show NCIS would say "Gut Feeling" contributing to the side chosen. Sports betting should be fun and enjoyable so always play within your means and NEVER chase your losses. You can follow me on Twitter @Brian_Twining - Let's try and win some bets!