PFWA Announce MVP, Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year

Social Navigation

Pro Football Writers of America Announce MVP, Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Awards


The Pro Football Writers of America has announced their annual NFL MVP and Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards this afternoon.

Remember, the PFWA’s MVP and Offensive/Defensive Player of the Year awards are essential because they are part of the NFL’s collective bargaining agreement with the NFLPA for contract incentives.

MVP: Patrick Mahomes

For the second time (2018), the PFWA has named Chiefs’ quarterback Patrick Mahomes the MVP.

Mahomes started all 17 games for the Chiefs, winning 14 of them. Mahomes led the NFL in passing yards (5,250) and touchdowns (41) this season. He rushed for 358 yards and four touchdowns and owned a 105.2 passer rating this season.

His 5,250 passing yards and 358 rushing yards combined for an NFL record 5,614 yards of total offense for the Chiefs this season. Mahomes threw for 300-plus yards in 10 games this season, a Kansas City record.

The Chiefs All-Pro quarterback also led the league in completions of 20-plus (73) and 40-plus yards (13). Mahomes was selected to the PFWA’s All-Pro Team this season.

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Jefferson

Justin Jefferson joins former Vikings running back Adrian Peterson (2012) as the second Viking to win the PFWA’s Offensive Player of the Year award. Jefferson joins Cooper Kupp (2021) as the second wide receiver to win the award.

Jefferson led the NFL in receptions (128) and receiving yards (1,809), becoming the first Vikings player to do so. JJets became the seventh player in NFL history to record more than 1,800 receiving yards. He also caught eight touchdowns and rushed for another.

The Vikings have watched Jefferson transform into the NFL’s best wider receiver in his three seasons in Minnesota. He set a Vikings single-season record with 10 100-yard receiving games and tied a career-high with 12 catches in Week 16. Jefferson set a career-high in receiving yards with 223 in Week 14 against Detroit.

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Bosa

Nick Bosa received the honor this season for the first time in his four-year career. Bosa became the third 49ers player (Dana Stubblefield; 1997, Deion Sanders; 1994) to win the award.

Bosa is the first defensive end to win the honor since Calais Campbell won it in 2017 and the 12th overall. In 16 games Bosa led the NFL with 18.5 sacks (second most in 49ers history). Bosa also logged 19 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, and a pass defense.

Bosa recorded a sack in at least 13 games this season and logged a career-high three sacks against the Dolphins in Week 13.

Author: Patrick K. Flowers

Patrick is the Lead NFL Writer at Bleacher Nation. You can follow him on Twitter @PatrickKFlowers.