Chicago Cubs Lineup: Kris Bryant Returns!

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Kris Bryant Returns!

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs lost the first game of three against the Cincinnati Reds last night, which means they are back to .500 for the season.

Hopefully, they can get their heads back above water this afternoon.

Here’s the group that’ll try:

  1. Jon Jay, LF
  2. Kris Bryant, 3B
  3. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
  4. Willson Contreras, C
  5. Ian Happ, RF
  6. Addison Russell, SS
  7. Javy Baez, 2B
  8. Albert Almora, CF
  9. Eddie Butler, P

Hey there, Kris Bryant! Welcome back! Despite the Cubs already existent struggles, a prolonged stretch without Bryant would’ve been something much, much worse. Fortunately, after rolling his ankle on an infield pop-up the other day, he’s returning to the lineup against the Reds this afternoon.

Moreover, Bryant’s hitting .325/.403/.632 against the Reds for his career, so hopefully that trend continues tonight and the Cubs offense can actually get off the ground.

Addison Russell and Javy Baez are your double play combo up the middle, and Albert Almora Jr. stands behind them in center. Ian Happ is in right and Jon Jay continues to lead off and play left field.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ closer to game time (3:10 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami