Social Navigation

Homer Bailey Took First On a Dropped Third Strike, As the Nationals Threw it Around the Horn

Interesting

In baseball, there exists a rule typically known as the dropped third strike, you know how it goes:


ADVERTISEMENT

5.05 (6.09) When the Batter Becomes a Runner

(a) The batter becomes a runner when: (1) He hits a fair ball; Rule 5.05(a) Comment (Rule 2.00 (Ball) Comment): If the batter hits a pitch that touches the ground first, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. (2) The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out;

Homer Bailey knows that rule too, and he took advantage of it … big time against the Nationals:

Although … yeah, I’m not so sure that ball ever did hit the ground:

But hey, sometimes the umps get it wrong, and you have to be ready to make it work for you no matter what. Homer Bailey was ready for it, and he scored later that inning because of that aggressiveness.

Ultimately, the record keepers scored that as a throwing error on catcher Jose Lobaton, but don’t feel too bad for him – he hit a homer later in the game and the Nationals won by a final score of 14-4.


SHARE:

Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami writes about MLB at Baseball Is Fun. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami.