Requesting a Transparent Investigation, No NHL Awards to Celebrate, and Other Blackhawks Bullets

Social Navigation

Requesting a Transparent Investigation, No NHL Awards to Celebrate, and Other Blackhawks Bullets

Chicago Blackhawks

We are going to have much more on Jonathan Toews surprise return to the Blackhawks (and our lives) later this morning, but in case you missed the announcement: He’s back.

And I really needed that, because … man, it’s a weird time to be a Blackhawks fan.

•   Speaking of …

•   “Time’s Up” is a non-profit that advocates for victims of sexual violence. They are calling for the results of the independent review of the Blackhawks to be made public by the team and the league. Something NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman was non-committal on during his pre-Stanley Cup Final press conference.

•   The investigations, reporting, legal process, etc. All of this will be continuing through this summer until, hopefully, there is a just and right outcome from the findings surrounding the alleged incidents in 2010 in solving former video coach Brad Aldrich and two former Blackhawks players, along with the chain of events that followed Aldrich after his time with the Blackhawks was over.

•   Last night was the NHL Awards ceremony, handing out the last of the major regular season awards form the shortened 2021 NHL season. The Blackhawks didn’t do so well, as you would’ve expected.

•   Not even Kevin Lankinen got any love for the Calder Trophy or the All-Rookie team.

•   Patrick Kane was held off of the first and second NHL All-Star teams, as well.

•   The Calder Trophy for Rookie of the Year was nearly unanimous, with Minnesota’s Kirill Kaprizov getting 99 of 100 first-place votes.

•   While he ended up splitting time in net during the Golden Knights’ run in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, Marc-Andre Fleury won his first-ever Vezina Trophy at the age of 36-year-old.

•   Fluery’s backup in Vegas, Robin Lehner, showed his fellow netminder some love last night on social media, with a chirp of Fleury’s agent Allan Walsh thrown in for a good chuckle.

•   I miss Robin.

•   The Norris Trophy for Best Defenseman of the Year was a hotly debated award this season, but when it came down to it, New York Ranger young blue-liner Adam Fox was named the winner for the 2020-21 season.

•   Finally, in the least surprisingly outcome of the night, Connor McDavid became the second-ever unanimous Hart Trophy winner as League MVP, receiving all 100 first-place votes.

•   McDavid joins Wayne Gretzky as the only two unanimous Hart Trophy winners in league history. Gretzky received all 63 votes back in the 1981-82 season when he scored 212 points with the Edmonton Oilers.

•   With Leon Draisaitl’s Hart Trophy win last season and McDavid’s this season, the Oilers are the first team with different Hart winners in consecutive seasons since the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 and 1969-70 with Phil Esposito and Bobby Orr.

•   Finally, what is the end of a Blackhawks Bullets post these days without checking in on former Blackhawks defenseman Stephen Johns during his #MentalMiles cross-country rollerblading journey?

•   Not going to lie, kind of jealous.

•   That will do it for today. Enjoy your Wednesday!

Author: Mario Tirabassi

Mario Tirabassi is a writer for Bleacher Nation. You can follow him on Twitter @Mario_Tirabassi.