The Minor Leagues Are Back to Having Names

Social Navigation

The Minor Leagues Are Back to Having Names

Chicago Cubs

You may not have even noticed that “league names” went away for the affiliated minor leagues last year after the restructuring that lopped off a quarter of the affiliates, got rid of the short-season low-A leagues, and saw MLB take over MiLB operations. But if you DID notice, well, you can un-notice now.

Because the league names are back:

You may have to slightly adjust your memory, though, because the Iowa Cubs are no longer in the Pacific Coast League, having been shifted to the east last year. So, the I-Cubs are now in the International League.

The Tennessee Smokies are still in the Southern League, the South Bend Cubs are still in the Midwest League, and the Myrtle Beach Pelicans are still in the Carolina League. Oh, and the rookie level Cubs are still in the Arizona Complex League.

Author: Brett Taylor

Brett Taylor is the Editor and Lead Cubs Writer at Bleacher Nation, and you can find him on Twitter at @BleacherNation and @Brett_A_Taylor.