Chicago Cubs Lineup: Seiya Suzuki, Cleanup Man!

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Seiya Suzuki, Cleanup Man!

Chicago Cubs

It’s a lefty (Justin Steele) vs. lefty (Eric Lauer) matchup in Milwaukee tonight, with one very special outfielder making his long-awaited return. Here’s David Ross’ lineup for game one against the Brewers.

Chicago Cubs Lineup:

  1. Christopher Morel, 2B
  2. Willson Contreras, C
  3. Ian Happ, LF
  4. Seiya Suzuki, RF
  5. Nico Hoerner, SS
  6. Patrick Wisdom, 3B
  7. Yan Gomes, DH
  8. Nelson Velázquez, CF
  9. David Bote, 1B

SP: Justin Steele, LHP

Seiya Suzuki is back! He’s starting in right field and batting cleanup tonight! It’s so nice to have him back. And I’ll try my best not to overreact – in either direction – from his performance this afternoon.

With Suzuki in right and a lefty on the mound, Rafael Ortega and Alfonso Rivas are both on the bench. That leaves second base open for Christopher Morel, center open for Nelson Velázquez (Narciso Crook was the one who went down for Suzuki), and David Bote at first base.

It’s nice to see Bote back out there after re-injuring his shoulder in a collision with Nico Hoerner, especially at a spot where he won’t have to make many if any throws.

As usual, we’ll have your full Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (3:10 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami