Wells Fargo Championship History and Past Winners

Social Navigation

Wells Fargo Championship History and Past Winners

Wells Fargo Championship History and Past Winners

Golf, News

The PGA Tour’s best are back on the course this week as we head to Charlotte, North Carolina. We’re back at the Quail Hollow Club after a one-year hiatus for the 2023 Wells Fargo Championship. This year marks the 20th time this event has taken place so it’s a great time to review some Wells Fargo Championship History.  

For Best Bets and DFS advice, make sure to check out Betsperts Golf.

Join the Discord!

Wells Fargo Championship History

We mentioned it in the lead in, but this year’s tournament will be the 20th Wells Fargo Championship. Started back in 2003 as the Wachovia Championship, it quickly became a favorite among the clubhouse.

Quail Hollow Club was the first site to host the tournament and will be doing so for the 18th time this season. There have been two other venues to host the event with Eagle Point Golf Club doing so in 2017 and TPC Potomac last year.

Wells Fargo Championship Past Winners

As the Wells Fargo returns to Quail Hollow Club, we can expect a close battle for the win. 11 of the 17 tournaments held here have been won by 1stroke or in a playoff. That isn’t all that surprising considering most of the Tour’s best players enjoy playing this event and enter the field.

Opening Wells Fargo Championship Odds

There are two guys in particular who absolutely love playing here and are the only two with multiple wins. The first being defending champ Mox Homa who has won 2 of the last 3 Wells Fargo Championship events. With the other being this year’s favorite Rory McIlroy, who has won this tournament 3 times.

YearGolferScoreWin Margin
2022Max Homa (2)−82
2021Rory McIlroy (3)−101
2019Max Homa−153
2018Jason Day−122
2017Brian Harman−101
2016James Hahn−9Playoff
2015Rory McIlroy (2)−217
2014J. B. Holmes−141
2013Derek Ernst−8Playoff
2012Rickie Fowler−14Playoff
2011Lucas Glover−15Playoff
2010Rory McIlroy−154
2009Sean O’Hair−111
2008Anthony Kim−165
2007Tiger Woods−132
2006Jim Furyk−12Playoff
2005Vijay Singh−12Playoff
2004Joey Sindelar−11Playoff
2003David Toms−102

Featured Image Credit: Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

Author: Brian Twining

Just a regular guy who absolutely loves sports. I've been playing, watching, and recreationally betting on sports for over 30 years. My favorite sports to attack at the sportsbook are Football (NFL/NCAAF), College Basketball, and most recently - the NASCAR Cup Series. I'm not an "expert" and I don't have or use betting models, but I do put in the research and apply that to my wagers which are mostly backed by the trending data with of course a little, as Gibbs from the show NCIS would say "Gut Feeling" contributing to the side chosen. Sports betting should be fun and enjoyable so always play within your means and NEVER chase your losses. You can follow me on Twitter @Brian_Twining - Let's try and win some bets!