Chicago Cubs Lineup: Jonathan Villar Batting Third

Social Navigation

Chicago Cubs Lineup: Jonathan Villar Batting Third

Chicago Cubs

The Chicago Cubs haven’t lost a series yet this year, but they need a win today to keep that streak alive. Here’s David Ross’ lineup against right-hander Drew Rasmussen and the Rays.

Chicago Cubs Lineup: 

1. Rafael Ortega, LF
2. Seiya Suzuki, RF
3. Jonathan Villar, 3B
4. Ian Happ, DH
5. Frank Schwindel, 1B
6. Nick Madrigal, 2B
7. Jason Heyward, CF
8. Yan Gomes, C
9. Nico Hoerner, SS

Rafael Ortega is back in the leadoff spot today, but he’s also playing left field, pushing Ian Happ to DH. Meanwhile, the switch-hitting Jonathan Villar is batting third, where you’d normally find Willson Contreras (who’s getting the night off). Seiya Suzuki remains in the two-hole, Nico Hoerner remains in the second-leadoff spot, and Yan Gomes is behind the plate.

With both switch hitters in the lineup, plus Ortega and Jason Heyward, Rasmussen will face four left-handed hitting Cubs on what figures to be a cold and rainy night at Wrigley Field (now an hour earlier!). We’ll have much more in your Pre-Gamin’ post closer to game time (5:30 CT).

Author: Michael Cerami

Michael Cerami covers the Chicago Cubs, Bears, and Bulls at Bleacher Nation. You can find him on Twitter @Michael_Cerami