Masters History and Past Winners

Social Navigation

Masters History and Past Winners


To Augusta National we go for a tradition like no other. It’s time for The Masters so let’s take a look at some Masters History and Past Winners.

Masters History and Past Winners

Golf’s biggest event got its start back in 1934 and has been going strong ever since. Augusta National is the brainchild of golf legend Bobby Jones who after retirement, wanted to see his dream of building a golf course come to fruition.

He and investment banker Clifford Roberts joined forces to settle on and build Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia beginning in 1931. The first golf was played in December of 1932 with the club’s formal opening happening in January of the next year.

The first hosted PGA event was in 1934 and at the request of Jones was called the Augusta National Invitation Tournament until 1939. In 1940, Jones approved the name change to The Masters, and the tournament began its longstanding tradition of being played during the first week of April.

For Best Bets and DFS advice, make sure to check out Betsperts Golf.

The field for the golfs biggest event is always the smallest among the PGA Major Championships and golfers compete for the most coveted trophy in the sport. The Masters Clubhouse trophy was introduced in 1961 and winners get their names permanently engraved on it. Since 1993, champions have been given a replica of the trophy to take home. 

Quite possibly the most exciting part of winning The Masters however isn’t the trophy or purse. The Green Jacket and the ceremony surrounding it is one of the most recognized moments in all of sports.  

Many of golfs’ greats have won The Masters with multiple players having done so more than once. The Golden Bear Jack Nicklaus holds the record with six tournament wins. Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods are the only players to have won back-to-back Masters Tournament’s.     

2023 Masters Odds

The Masters History & Past Winners – Augusta National since 2001

YearGolferWin Margin
2022Scottie Scheffler3
2021HIdeki Matsuyama1
2020Dustin Johnson5
2019Tiger Woods1
2018Patrick Reed1
2017Sergio GarciaPlayoff
2016Danny Willett3
2015Jordan Spieth4
2014Bubba Watson3
2013Adam ScottPlayoff
2012Bubba WatsonPlayoff
2011Charl Schwartzel2
2010Phil Mickelson3
2009Angel CabreraPlayoff
2008Trevor Immelman3
2007Zach Johnson2
2006Phil Mickelson2
2005Tiger WoodsPlayoff
2004Phil Mickelson1
2003Mike WeirPlayoff
2002Tiger Woods3
2001Tiger Woods2

Author: Brian Twining

Just a regular guy who absolutely loves sports. I've been playing, watching, and recreationally betting on sports for over 30 years. My favorite sports to attack at the sportsbook are Football (NFL/NCAAF), College Basketball, and most recently - the NASCAR Cup Series. I'm not an "expert" and I don't have or use betting models, but I do put in the research and apply that to my wagers which are mostly backed by the trending data with of course a little, as Gibbs from the show NCIS would say "Gut Feeling" contributing to the side chosen. Sports betting should be fun and enjoyable so always play within your means and NEVER chase your losses. You can follow me on Twitter @Brian_Twining - Let's try and win some bets!